Ballincollig’s 4 goals beat Carbery against Nemo

Ballincool 4-11 Carbery 1-15

BALLINCOLLIG scored four goals for the second time advancing to power impressively to the Bon Secours Premier SFC semi-finals at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday night.

Two first-half penalties from Sian Dorgan and two more on appeal from Darren Murphy ensured Ballincoleg qualified for the mile with Nemo Rangers well before the finish despite Carberry battling to the finish, summed up by the never-dead Brian O’Driscoll. Approaching.

The combined tally of 3 to 12 set a high level of entertainment from the opening half that simply flew.

The standard was set within 15 seconds of the throw-in, when Darren Murphy signaled to the village and a minute later, Dorgan converted his first penalty kick.

Liam O’Connell’s dash through Carbery’s central defense resulted in a foul by Brian Everard and Dorgan overcame goalkeeper Cian Ryan with a low shot to his left.

West Cork representatives ignored this setback by taking the next four points, the first from Brian O’Driscoll’s free goal and Rory Dean’s goal in the ninth minute.

Aaron Hayes supplied the action of a spade with a hack-through-the-middle potion for the former Cork star, who finished in style.

And when a Bantry Blues player kicked a free kick moments later, Carbery had a 1-3-1-1 lead up front.

Ballincollege, however, came back with a point from Dara or Mahoney after a clever overtaking before they netted a second penalty in the 12th minute.

Sean Dorne found himself the meat in the sandwich as he tried to make his way up and was taken down with Dorgan again the same way with his kick, 2-2 to 1-3.

A brilliant cross from Deane created the opportunity for winger Gere O’Callaghan to score a much needed point, which Deane added to the free tier for the first time at 1-5 to 2-2 by the 18th minute.

Despite this, Ballincollege dictated matters in the rest, limiting their opponents to a single point of free debt and scoring four of them.

Ballincollig’s Sean Dur is blocked by Carberys Ruairí Deane. Photo: Dennis Boyle

A well-timed interception by Luke Fahey at one end ended with Murphy scoring a fine score at the other and Lincolnage with a 2-6 advantage to 1-6.

He dropped to the bottom line by the 37th minute, but then Ballinculej seized control at eight minutes to determine the match when they effectively set a tie.

Murphy scored his third goal after 40 minutes, following up on the efforts of Liam O’Connell, which Ryan saved well and two other points from Dorgan and Murphy, which led to Carbery two goals behind.

That extended to three in the 47th minute, when Murphy went single-handedly to score No. 4 with Dara Umhoni making it 4-10 to 1-9.

And while Ballencolleg couldn’t add more than one score courtesy of Dorgan, they had enough in the bank to fend off O’Driscoll’s score streak.

Even Murphy’s late black card hasn’t derailed their journey, which now takes Nemo, a mouth-watering next stop.

Ballincollig scorers: J Dorgan 2-4 (2-0 penalty, 0-1 f), D Murphy 2-3, Dee O’Mahony 0-2, L O’Connell, L Fahey 0-1 each.

Carbery: R Deane 1-4 (0-3 f), B O’Driscoll 0-7 (0-5 f, 0-1 45), P O’Driscoll 0-2, G O’Callaghan, K O’Driscoll 0- 1 each.

Ballincoleg: C Walsh. G O’Donoghue, N Galvin, E Cooke; L Fahy, L Jennings, C Kiely; S Kiely, S Dore; H. Aherne, L. O’Connell, D. O’Mahony; Dorgan, C. Dorgan, de Murphy.

Subs: P O’Neill for Cooke (36), J O’Connor for Dore and S Wills for D Dorgan (51), Dore for O’Neill (injured 56), P Kelly for Jennings (57).

Carbery: C Ryan (Balinscarthy); R O’Connor (St. Mary’s), P. Murphy (St. Colum), D. Toome (Balinscarthy); K O’Brien (Gabriel Rangers), B Everard (St Mary’s), G O’Callaghan (Gabriel Rangers); S Ryan (Ballinascarthy), B O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaighs); K O’Driscoll (Doe), C O’Driscoll (Doe, C), A. Hayes (St. James); K O’Driscoll (Gabriel Rangers), R Deane (Bantry Blues), and P O’Driscoll (Gabriel Rangers).

Subs: R Hourihane (Kilmacabea) for Murphy 32, S Thornton (Bantry Blues) for O’Brien, K Keohane (Kilmeen) for O’Callaghan and J O’Regan (Gabriel Rangers) for S Ryan, all 45, S Daly (Randal Óg) for C O’Driscoll 52.

Rule: C. Denin (Douglas).