Three of the worst iPhone mistakes you could make — and they could cost you

Don’t make simple iPhone mistakes that can be easily avoided.

If you want to stay away from hacks, leaks, hacking, and more, here are three iPhone mistakes you should not make.

1

Setting up iCloud Keychain can be a real lifesaverCredit: Apple/Sun

Reuse passwords

There is almost no excuse for reusing passwords these days.

We are constantly asked to choose complex passwords – and doing so has never been easier.

iCloud Keychain remembers the passwords you type on your phone, encrypts them, and stores them in the cloud.

You're sending the wrong text messages - Three new clever iPhone message hacks have been exposed
Apple is making a big change to your iPhone after fans complained about the new feature

So you can choose very strong passwords without having to remember them – your phone will simply enter them for you when you log in.

This is one of the best defenses against hackers.

Apple explains: “iCloud Keychain remembers things so you don’t have to.”

It automatically fills in your information—such as your Safari usernames and passwords, credit cards, Wi-Fi networks and social networking logins—on any device you approve.

iCloud Keychain stores your passwords and credit card information in a way that Apple can’t read or access.

And the Safari web browser now has a special feature called strong passwords.

When you sign up for a service on Safari, you’ll get an option to use an automatically generated password that’s hard for hackers to crack.

This password is automatically saved to iCloud Keychain so you don’t even have to remember it.

on your Iphoneor iPad or iPod Touch, follow these steps:

  • Click Settings> [your name] > iCloud (in iOS 10.2 or earlier, it’s just Settings > iCloud)
  • Press keychain
  • Tap the slider to turn on iCloud Keychain

There is even a new system introduced in iOS 16 Call passkey It can make your account more secure – by letting you log in without any password at all.

Do not use automatic scanning

When you lose a file IphoneOr it is stolen or someone nearby is trying to break into it, it is likely that someone will be able to get access to it.

One way is to use passcodes, hoping you’ve chosen an easy number like 000000 or 123456.

These simple passcodes are the go-to option for scammers trying to get into your mobile phone.

You can turn on the Erase Private Data function so that your iPhone erases itself when there are too many failed attempts to enter the passcode.

Activating the setting means that your iPhone will be erased after 10 attempts to enter the passcode.

This will remove all your personal data from the device.

Most importantly, even though your data will be erased from your iPhone, you shouldn’t lose it completely.

This is because the data is not deleted from your iCloud.

As long as you have regular iCloud backups, you should be safe.

This means that the person who hijacked your iPhone will not be able to get your private photos, texts, and more.

And when you replace your iPhone, you’ll be able to restore it to almost the same condition as your previous model using iCloud.

So how can you do that?

Go to Settings > Face ID & Passcode and then enter your passcode.

Then scroll all the way to the bottom and set the Erase data toggle switch to the On position.

But be wary of using this feature if you have young children who regularly access your iPhone – because they might accidentally erase it.

Allow apps to track you

Simple change to your iPhone settings so that ads stop tracking you across the web.

App Tracking Transparency allows you to control which apps can track you.

When you download and open a new app, you’ll get a notification asking if you want to allow the app to track your activity across other companies’ apps and sites.

You will also see information about what the app will track.

At this point, tap on Prompt Do Not Track to block or allow this activity.

Also, to opt out of app tracking across each app, you can download by going to Settings > Privacy > Tracking.

Then turn off Allow apps to request tracking.

This result is that any app that tries to ask for permission will be automatically blocked from asking and telling you that you asked not to be tracked.

After that, all apps will be blocked from accessing your device information used for advertising, according to Apple.

For apps already downloaded that may have tracking permissions set up, you can still turn these permissions on or off.

This is done by going to Settings, tapping on an app and tapping to turn off Allow Tracking.

Alternatively, go to Settings > Privacy > Tracking, and tap to turn each app on or off in the list.

The best tips and instructions for phones and smart devices

Are you looking for tips and advice for your phone? Want to find those secret features inside social media apps? We have covered…

Get the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook stories and other tech tools here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk